

ATENEO DE MANILA UNIVERSITY

OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

Memo # U2122-069 30 Apr 2022

Memo to : The University Community

Subject : New Dean of the John Gokongwei School of Management



Upon the recommendation of the Search Committee for the JGSOM Dean, and with the approval of the Executive Committee of the Ateneo de Manila Board of Trustees, I am pleased to announce the appointment of Dr Roberto Martin N Galang as Dean of the Ateneo John Gokongwei School of Management for an initial 3-year term, from 1 June 2022 to 31 May 2025.

A former faculty member of JGSOM and the valedictorian of the Loyola Schools Class of 1994, Dr Galang returns to us after nine years with the World Bank Group where, as a Senior Private Sector Specialist, he led studies and negotiated and implemented key economic development projects in

countries such as the Philippines, Malaysia, and Indonesia.

Dr Galang earned his PhD in Management (2011) and MS in Management (2009) from IESE Business School in Barcelona, Spain. He also holds an MS in Economics for Development (1997) from Oxford University, United Kingdom.

Between Oxford and IESE, Robby worked at JBF Center for Banking and Finance in Manila, LECG in New York, AIM Policy Center in Manila, Navigant Consulting in Washington, DC and Manila, and Penn Schoen & Berland in New York.

On behalf of Ateneo de Manila, I would like to thank Dr Galang for his magnanimity in accepting the mission to lead the Ateneo John Gokongwei School of Management.

We also thank Dr Luis "Louie" F Dumlao for his commendable service as JGSOM Dean since 2016. Under Dr Dumlao's leadership, JGSOM strengthened its systems for research, postgraduate studies support, and international collaboration, resulting in the steady growth of faculty research involvement and output, an increase in PhDs among faculty, and opportunities for international accreditation by the ASEAN University Network (AUN) and the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB).

We express our deep appreciation for the work done by the Search Committee for the JGSOM Dean, whose members are Dr Fernando T Aldaba (Chair), Dr Jowett Cecilio F Magsaysay, Mr Ricardo H Mercado, Dr Mendiola T Calleja, and Mr Emmanuel O Bautista.

Let us support the new Dean of the Ateneo John Gokongwei School of Management with our cooperation and prayers.

(Sgd) Roberto C Yap SJ President