

## ATENEO DE MANILA UNIVERSITY Office of the President

Memo # U2021-006 01 Sep 2020

Memo to	:	The University Community
Subject	:	Nominations to the Board of Trustees

At its 7 November 2020 meeting, the Ateneo de Manila University Corporation will elect six (6) members of the Board of Trustees, to replace those whose terms will end by then or who have resigned as Trustees, or be re-elected as such.

Pursuant to Section 3, Article III of the University's By-Laws, the Board of Trustees requests from the University Community nominations of candidates for consideration and (re-)election to the Board. Nominations, together with a brief description of the nominees' backgrounds and achievements, may be sent to the Corporate Secretary, Office of the President, on or before 30 September 2019, to afford the Board Committee on Membership sufficient time to go through the nominations. You may send your nomination letters through email to jghofilena@ateneo.edu or president@ateneo.edu.

In making nominations, please take into consideration: (a) the provision in Section 2, Article III of the By-Laws that Trustees must be graduates of recognized educational institutions or universities in the Philippines or abroad, and (b) Presidential Decree No. 176 on the Filipinization of Ownership, Control and Administration of Educational Institutions, which requires that membership in the Board of Trustees be limited to Filipino citizens. Please also note that there is no rule against re-election.

The following Trustees will end their current terms of office by November 2020. (Where appropriate, their previous terms are also indicated.):

Dr Fabian M Dayrit Fr Gabriel Jose T Gonzalez SJ Fr Karel S San Juan SJ Ms Bernadine T Siy Fr Jose Ramon T Villarin SJ	(2 terms) (1 term) (2 1/3 terms) (2 terms) (6 2/3 terms)	<ul> <li>2014-2017; 2017-2020</li> <li>2017-2020</li> <li>2013-2014; 2014-2017; 2017-2020</li> <li>2014-2017; 2017-2020</li> <li>2000-2003; 2003-2006; 2006-2009; 2009-2011; 2011-2014; 2014-2017;</li> </ul>
Tryose Ramon T vinarin Sj	(0 27 5 terms)	2009-2011; 2011-2014; 2014-2017; 2017-2020

Moreover, Fr Eric G Velandria SJ's current term as Trustee (up to November 2022) has been cut short by his resignation from the Board, having been newly-designated as the Coordinator for Jesuit Refugee Service for Global Education, based in Rome.

The remaining members of the Board and their current terms are:

Fr Aristotle C Dy SJ	2018-2021
Mr Lance Y Gokongwei	2018-2021
Dr Chito B Salazar	2018-2021
Fr Primitivo E Viray Jr SJ	2018-2021
Fr Roberto C Yap ŚJ	2018-2021
2	
Dr Anna Marie A Karaos	2019-2022
Mr Christopher T Po	2019-2022
Fr Roberto Exequiel N Rivera SJ	2019-2022
Mr Wilson L Sy	2019-2022
Fr Eric G Velandria SJ	2019-2022

Thank you.

4. A Taime G Hofileña Corporate Secretary