

ATENEO DE MANILA UNIVERSITY

OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

Memo # U2223-088 31 May 2023

Memo to : The University Community

Subject : Update on University Research Council

I wish to inform the University Community that I have appointed Dr John Paul C Vergara as Officer-in-Charge (OIC) of the University Research Council (URC) from 1 June 2023 to 31 July 2023.

During these two months the URC will still be technically under the President's Office before it is officially transferred to the Office of the Assistant Vice President for Research, Creative Work, and Innovation beginning 1 August 2023.

I thank John Paul for generously accepting to serve as URC OIC during this transition period. Through this memo, I wish to announce as well the hold over arrangement for the URC members whose terms are set to expire on 31 May 2023 namely:

- Lourdes Bernadette S Tanchanco MD
- Emilyn Q Espiritu PhD
- Atty Amparita S Sta Maria
- Pilar U Tolentino PhD

The hold over will be effective from 1 June to 31 July 2023. The other incumbent members of the URC are:

•	Michael M Coroza PhD	1 June 2022 to 31 May 2024
•	Rosalina P Tan PhD	1 November 2021 to 31 May 2024
•	John Paul C Vergara PhD	1 June 2022 to 31 May 2025
•	Jayeel S Cornelio PhD (ADRCW)	ex-officio
•	Rizalino D Rivera (VPMI)	ex-officio
•	Maria Luz C Vilches PhD (VPHE)	ex-officio

We take this opportunity also to thank all the members of the URC for their commitment to fostering a culture of scholarly excellence which has made a profound impact on our institution. In a special way, we express our gratitude to Dr Ma Louise Antonette N de las Peñas for bigheartedly leading the Council since 2021. We wish her an enriching and rejuvenating year as she embarks on a sabbatical leave.

(Sgd) Roberto C Yap SJ President