

## ATENEO DE MANILA UNIVERSITY

## OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

Memo # U2021-038 25 Mar 2021

Memo to : The University Community

Subject : New Dean of the School of Science and Engineering



Upon the recommendation of the Search Committee for the School of Science and Engineering Dean, and with the approval of the Executive Committee of the Ateneo de Manila Board of Trustees, I am pleased to announce the appointment of Dr Raphael "Paeng" A Guerrero as Dean of the School of Science and Engineering for an initial term, from 1 April 2021 to 31 May 2024.

Dr Guerrero is a Professor of the Department of Physics where he has taught since 2000. He has held various administrative roles as Acting Dean of the School of Science and Engineering (January –

May 2019), Chair of the Department of Physics (2016 – 2019) and Coordinator of the Ateneo Photonics Laboratory (2001 – present). He was President of the Physics Society of the Philippines (PSP) in 2011 and 2012 and currently serves as a member of the Photonics Technical Panel of the Philippine Council for Industry, Energy and Emerging Technology Research and Development.

Paeng holds a PhD in Physics (2005) from the University of the Philippines in Diliman where he also obtained his MS (2000) and BS (1998) in Physics. His areas of specialization are lasers and photonics, volume holography and elastomeric optics. He was recognized as an Outstanding Young Scientist by the National Academy of Science and Technology in 2013 and has held the Fr Heyden SJ Professorial Chair in Physics from 2010 to 2021.

On behalf of the Ateneo de Manila, I would like to thank Paeng for his magnanimity in accepting this new mission to lead the School of Science and Engineering.

We also thank Dr Evangeline "Banjo" P Bautista for generously serving as Assistant Dean (2011-2012) and Dean of School of Science and Engineering (2012-2021) and for her vision in expanding the research, science and engineering programs of the school.

We express our deep appreciation for the work done by the School of Science and Engineering Search Committee, whose members are Dr Remmon E Barbaza (Chair), Dr Jose Jowel P Canuday, Dr Ma Louise Antonette N De las Peñas, Dr Crisanto M Lopez, Dr Cristina J Montiel, Mr Joselito C Olpoc, and Dr Catherine P Vistro-Yu.

Let us support the new Dean of the School of Science and Engineering with our cooperation and prayers.

(Sgd) Roberto C Yap SJ President